July Foodie Penpals Reveal

It has been a while since I last posted.  I’ve been SO busy with my class, working at Leo’s, trying to spend time with friends, and I scored an internship!  I even missed the deadline to post about foodie penpals.  Well, better late then never right?

 

What a beautiful package Jenni sent me.  At first, the person who was supposed to send me a package never contacted me and Jenni said she never got a reply either.  After a couple days of no response, Lindsay paired us together.  Jenni is from St. Louis, MO and sent me some great local foods!  And yes.. it’s ALL VEGAN!

I’m wrapping all my goodies in cute paper from now on.

Sorry I just got this camera and I don’t know how to turn off the flash so the picture quality is not the best

 

 

Jenni sent me two samples of granola.  It was AMAZING! I e-mailed her begging for the recipe.  She said she just threw in a bunch of stuff together but said she would try to think about what ingredients she used. Here’s the recipe.  I haven’t tried making it yet because I don’t have wheat germ.. but since I’ve already eaten all the granola she’s sent me I need to make some SOON.

“I think I may have figured it out!  I used a few different recipes I have and combined them to make this granola.  I suggest playing around with the flavors you like, it’s very forgiving!  I think you could also omit the brown sugar in this one.  Honey is normally used, but I decided on the corn syrup to make it vegan friendly.  You could also use agave, it’s lighter.  I hope that helps and if you make it, it tastes the same!

3 cup Old Fashioned Oats
1 cup shredded coconut
1 cup pecans, chopped
1/4 cup wheat germ
1 tsp cinnamon
1 tsp vanilla
1/4 tsp salt
1/4 cup brown sugar
4 Tbsp vegetable oil
1/3 cup light corn syrup
1 cup dried cranberries
1/2 carob chips, optional
Mix oats, coconut, pecans, wheat germ, cinnamo,n, brown sugar and salt in a large bowl.  Mix corn syrup, vanilla and vegetable oil in a glass measuring cup.  Pour over oat mixture.  Combine until everything is mixed very well, place on a large baking sheet.  Bake in a 350 degree oven, stirring occasionally, for about 20 minutes or until golden brown.  Allow to cool, then add the cranberries and chips.”
When I do make this granola, I think I’ll use honey instead of corn syrup because it’s healthier.  Although honey isn’t technically vegan, I will use it occasionally in baking.
Oh my dark chocolate…
Jenni also sent me a few other goodies that are not here because the picture quality is so low.  One in particular was locally made peanut butter!  Because it was packaged in a plastic container, a bit of oil leaked out.  Nevertheless it still tasted delicious! I even made chocolate chip peanut butter cookies the next day.
Thanks again Jenni!!

 

 

One thought on “July Foodie Penpals Reveal

Leave a Reply

