Quinoa, Kale, and Berry Bliss Oat Squares

After class Thursday, I stopped by Whole Foods to purchase Quinoa!  It was my first time making it.  It was hard to rinse the quinoa because I don’t have a thin strainer so I ended up hand washing it.  I lost some quinoa in the process but now I know next time to use a cheesecloth or not wash it at all.

I had kale, tabouli, and hummus in the fridge so I decided to create a “mediterranean salad”

I then topped it off with hummus 🙂

I also JUST got my food processor Today! To celebrate I made some Berry Bliss Oat Squares with the recipe from Oh She Glows.

Processing oats is so much fun

Pureeing the Strawberries, blueberries, banana, and maple syrup

I think I should have kept them in the oven slightly longer for a more “crispy” bar

Still, the bars turned out great!  Now that I have the food processor I can do more things!  I wonder what recipe I should tackle next… I might make the fruit and nut bars again because we ran out recently because I would eat one everyday.  This wednesday I’am going to Inn Season Cafe with my mom and my sister! I’m so excited to show them vegan/vegetarian cooking… and of course, the deserts.  On Friday, I’m going to Ann Arbor for the annual, Ann Arbor Art Fair to sit at the table for the Southeastern Michigan Animal Rights team.  This will be my first event with S.M.A.R.T but I’m excited to get involved!

 

3 thoughts on “Quinoa, Kale, and Berry Bliss Oat Squares

Leave a Reply

