Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Happy (late) Birthday America!

I stopped by Plum yesterday and bought non-dairy baking chips and decided I should make some delicious vegan chocolate chip cookies.

Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies
Yields about 30 small cookies

After looking up several recipes online, I finally went with the recipe from Oh She Glows

Here’s what you need:

  • 7 tbsp Earth Balance+ 1 tbsp extra virgin olive oil (or 1/2 cup Earth Balance- see note)
  • 1/2 cup packed brown sugar
  • 1/4 cup cane sugar (or use white)
  • 1 flax egg: (1 tbsp ground flaxed mixed with 3 tbsp water)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp kosher salt
  • 1/2 cup whole wheat pastry flour
  • 3/4 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

They turned out really good!  I think next time I’ll add in some almond milk because the batter seemed not as “together” as it should be.  There was also too many “mini” baking chips so I won’t use as much.  The only downside to these cookies was that I accidentally poured in a lot of Kosher salt…. I don’t think you could taste them because I frosted the cookies so the excess sugar would overpower any salty aftertaste. 

 

 

Image

Image

2 thoughts on “Vegan Chocolate Chip Cookies!

Leave a Reply

