Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes

My friend Ashley is having her graduation party today!  Since one of my goals this week was to bake a vegan desert, I thought this would be a perfect opportunity to accomplish two things at once.

Remember the book I rented from the library… Vegan Cupcakes Take over the World?  Well this is where I got the recipe from with a few alterations.

Vegan Chocolate Cupcakes
-makes 12 cupcakes-

Ingredients

  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 tsp apple cider vinegar
  • 3/4 granulated sugar
  • 1/3 cup canola oil
  • 1.5 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1/3 cup cocoa powder
  • 3/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp salt

1.  Pre-heat oven 350 degrees F and line muffin pan with paper liners

2.  Whisk together the almond milk, vinegar and set aside for two minutes.  Then add the other wet ingredients.

3.  In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients.

4.  Add in dry ingredients to the wet ingredients a couple batches at a time.

5.  Stir until the batter is smooth as possible

6.  Pour batter into the paper liners.  Bake in oven for 18 minutes

Once they cool down.. FROST!  I didn’t make my own frosting, I used the kind from a can (still vegan but not health).  I’ll do a post on vegan butter cream frosting asap.

Leave a Reply

