WIAW – First Post

My first ever.. What I ate Wednesday!

My usual morning routine starts off with, of course, breakfast!  But before I even prepare breakfast itself, I always start with a cup of green tea.

Breakfast: Special K cereal with sliced bananas and organic pumpkin and flax seed granola.  I used a tiny amount of Almond milk because I hate when cereal gets soggy.  Omitting the almond milk would make the cereal too dry and crunchy.  The happy medium is about 1/4 cup.  The bananas were a great combination as its softness juxtaposed the crunchy cereal.

Lunch: Iceberg lettuce with hummus dressing, craisins, almonds, and cashews.  Side of white beans and some other green colored bean that I’m not very fond of.  I included it in my lunch because my dad cooked them the night before.  I know iceberg lettuce isn’t the best choice for a salad since it has zero nutrition, but we didn’t have any romaine or spinach in the house.  I think the other salad contents, especially the hummus, and the beans helped balance out the nutrition.  And yes… I ate it with chopsticks

Snack: Apple slices with nut butter.  Half was almond butter and the other half was peanut butter.  I couldn’t decide on which nut butter I wanted… so I had both!  Pretty right?  I saw this in a seventeen magazine issue and I couldn’t resist doing the same design.

Dinner: Veggie Stir Fry!  Not included in the picture is a steamed grecian pita which I used to make my own “veggie” pita.

Desert: Well it was supposed to be a Vegan cupcake but it turns out the bakery near my house doesn’t actually have vegan deserts.  There is, however, vegan cupcakes at the Cupcake Station, Taste Love Cupcakes, and Just Baked.  Tomorrow I’m going with my two other vegan friends to Inn Season Cafe the best vegetarian and vegan restaurant in metro-detroit.  I also hear they have AMAZING deserts so I can’t wait to go!  If the desert isn’t that good its okay… we can walk to Taste Love Cupcakes next door.  Not only did they just opened last year in April, but they won Cupcake wars!!  I have tried their vegan chocolate cupcake and it is superb.

Leave a Reply

