Why Veganism?

The inevitable question I am asked….So why did you decide to become a vegan?  My answer?  I’ve been contemplating becoming a vegan for quite a while now.  As a greek yogurt lover I thought it would be impossible.  I also have a weakness for deserts (cupcakes) and I thought being a vegan I wouldn’t be able to enjoy sweets.  Since May, I’ve been attending yoga classes regularly and I stumbled upon a book called “Yoga and Vegetarianism: The Pathway to Greater Health and Happiness” written by Sharon Gannon.

Although the title says “vegetarianism,” Gannon implies “veganism”.  Previously, I read Skinny Bitch which convinced me to go vegetarian.

 However, I needed more resources.  After Looking at the Mars Reading List, I went to the library and checked out multiple books including: Veganist, Animal Liberation, and The JungleVegan Cupcakes Take Over the World, and Raw EnergyI plan on reading more books on animal rights and factory farms once I finish these books.  If I have time, I want to read classics like Walden, by Henry David Thoreau, and Silent Spring, by Rachel Carson.  I started reading “Yoga and Vegetarianism” but I decided I should read Veganist first because it’s more of a foundation book/guide to being a Vegan.  Through understandable and in depth explanations, Freston writes the incomparable benefits of being a vegan.  How a “plant based diet” can improve your health, the environment, the animals, and the world.

3 thoughts on “Why Veganism?

  1. A weight lifted off my shoulders when I became vegetarian. Maybe veganism is the next step… But I am soooo into cheese… Must look more into it!

Leave a Reply

